Please listen to and share my interview with Brad Davis of The Talk of Connecticut.
We discussed how police departments across Connecticut are working to combat distracted driving with their annual “U Drive U Text U Pay” campaign.
First time offenders will be ticketed $150, while repeat offenders could pay up to $500 or even $1,000 if they violate the law in a work zone.
The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration says distracted driving claims the lives of more than 3,400 people each year.
And the crackdown isn’t just for phone-related offenses.
Putting on makeup, eating or even fiddling with the radio could all be grounds for a traffic stop.
Spread the word and be safe out there!